Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of online education/ e-learning.

In this essay, I would discuss the advantages and disadvantages of online education and why I think we have more to gain than to lose. Online education provides a personal space where we can control how we learn at a convenient pace. For example, in conventional classrooms, the student must all move in the same pace in order to meet up with the course outline. Online students have the flexibility to spend less time on a course they already know. E-learning platform make it easier to collaborate with a wider audience compared to a conventional learning model. For instance, MIT has over 2, 000 active students enrolled in each course every year, these students are from diverse ethnic background and bring a wealth of knowledge to other students through a forum which almost every platform provides. However, e-education have shortcomings in physical, social interaction which is necessary in developing our social skills for us to function as a society. For example, a from a reported study from MIT, where researchers found that students who spend more time on their computer tend to be isolated from their social environment. Furthermore, effective remote learning relies heavily on several resources that may not be guaranteed in some certain region across the world. In other words, developing countries may find it difficult meeting the required resources because of lack of electricity and reliable internet access. In conclusion, e-learning would solve a lot of the problems that we currently face in conventional education settings, over time we would have to reform the existing platform to be more effective and also hope that developing countries meet up with their energy requirement and internet connectivity.