Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car in an urban area and state your opinion.

As the standard of living is getting higher, more and more people are buying cars just as they are buying T. V. sets. It is however debatable if buying a car in an urban area is advantageous or not. Having a car in an urban area on the one hand provides the owner with comfort and safety but on the other hand involves a lot of worry and expenses. There are some advantages to owning a car in an urban area. First, sitting in your car is much more comfortable than having to wait a long time for the arrival of the bus or train. In bad weather the driver of the car is warm and comfortable and is always guaranteed a seat. Second, in urban areas it is much safer to be in your car, especially at night, than having to walk down a dark street to get to a bus stop or train. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to owning a car. First, a car is expensive. Gasoline is not cheap and car insurance rates in urban areas are very high. There are other expenses to be considered too, such as car maintenance and repairs as well as parking fee. Second, owning a car causes a lot of worry and stress. If you leave your car in the street at night, it might get stolen or its parts might get stolen. It is also very stressful to be driving on the freeway or in traffic jams and there is the constant fear and stress of being involved in an accident. In short, owning a car in an urban area can be both advantageous by providing comfort and safety and disadvantageous by causing worry and stress as well as a lot of expenses to the driver. In my own opinion, owning a car is indispensable for getting around safely and freely in a big town and its advantages far outweigh its disadvantages.