Celebrities should be allowed to keep their private lives private, without the invasion of the media

1. It is widely known that celebrities live under constant media surveillance. Every aspect of their life makes headlines, while some of them certainly enjoy the attention they get, others have problems with it. To my way of thinking when you decide to be a celebrity, you are actually agreeing to live under constant media scrutiny and public attention. 2. Since the twentieth century, famous people have been receiving public and media attention more than ever. It is clear that celebrities thrive on the media attention they get and that is exactly what makes them celebrities. No one complains when they are making news for all the right reasons. Even celebrities who guard their personal lives have no problems when the media praises them for their immaculate sense of dressing or their dashing lifestyle. 3. Furthermore, not only they themselves post personal photos on their social profiles but also when the same media lambast them for wearing the wrong outfit or dating the wrong person, they get upset. They get upset when the media publishes their unflattering images. Just like any other person, celebrities also have a right to privacy. But when you agree to become a celebrity, you are agreeing to live under constant media inspection and public observation. 4. An important benefit of being a celebrity is that they enjoy good popularity. This popularity helps them endorse products and make loads of money. They are icons to millions of people and naturally people want to know about their personal lives and the media satisfy that hunger. This often results in the invasion of privacy. 5. To conclude, constant media scrutiny is a byproduct of stardom. A person who enjoys the benefits of being a celebrity must be willing to take the negative aspects as well. In my opinion, celebrities should take this sportingly. By choosing to become a celebrity they themselves have agreed to be in the limelight. So, they should take any intrusion into their personal life as part of their fame. Like James Carville once said, ‘’When you become famous, being famous becomes your profession’’.