Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of giving international aid to poor countries. Give your opinion in no less than 250 words.

Poor countries are assisted by international organizations as well as developed countries for overall development. It can have both merits and demerits depending upon the situation. On the positive side, it will help in the development of facilities such as education and healthcare. The money received can be used to improve the quality of education, better infrastructure or to increase the number of schools and colleges. Moreover, progress in all sectors will create more employment opportunities. This will increase the percentage of people paying taxes to the government. These taxes, therefore, can be used for other purposes which will help in the upliftment of the economy. For example, many countries took monetary help during the pandemic which saved their government funds for other emergencies. This will maintain an equilibrium in financially-weak countries. On the flipside, the under developed countries will become habitual of taking help from international sources and do not become self-reliant. They will be dependent on richer countries for their progress. Hence, this will create circumstances of dominance by richer countries. Moreover, they will try to create a monopoly so that poor countries become incapable to stand on their own. Furthermore, such international aids can influence the tradition of a nation and people get tempted by the occasion of other countries, mainly European countries. To conclude, taking international aid is advantageous if a country understands its capabilities and accept help only in case of emergencies upto a limit otherwise it will make them a puppet of international fund providers.