Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of giving international aid to developing countries.

The growing nations rely on the assistance from the developed foreign countries. People tend to think, there is plethora of benefits in getting such financial support, however, there are multitudes of disadvantages also. This essay discusses in points with appropriate examples to demonstrate the pros and cons of international aid. To embark on, generally poor countries lack sufficient resources and funds to ensure some very basic needs like health, education, medicines and infrastructure. Firstly, to initialize a project in industrial sector or in farming, foreign aid will be of significant support. To exemplify, Somalia which is a country torn by civil war is deprived in the agricultural production front. In this context the food aid from USA wouls alleviate the starvation of the civilians. And eventually assists to combat many diseases like ebola and AIDS, confront terrorism and augmentation of infrastructural development. Secondly, the relief fund creates a stronger bond between the parties involved. For instance, The Masai of southern Kenya has had donated The Americans 14 cows after the attack of 9/11 as a gesture of solidarity, ultimately enhancing the goodwill that results in positive memories. Looking at the flip side of the financial aid, the benevolence shown also has a detrimental effect on the shoot up in local price of food, water, clothing and other commodities. In addition, another repercussion the developing coubntries become more dependant on the donar. To elucidate, Mozambique as a recipient of support from the USA, the level of dependency as percentage of their GDP rose by 16 % points in less than 20 years. In most of the politically unstable countries the foreign help is deployed a political strategy strategy to exploit in multitude ways that exacerbates the recepient’s condition. It is obvious that, this kind of endowment results is global favouritism, Hence to conclude, financial aid has myriads of benefits such as economy stabilization, reduction of debt burden, welfare and prosperity of poverty stricken nations. Whereas, disadvantages such as up shoot in dependency, political in stability and inflation are inevitable.