Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of Genetically modified foods

Before learning about the benefits and harms of GM foods, I will give a definition for this concept. GMOs are made by plants or animals whose genetic material are artifactory manipulated. This creates combinations of plant, animal, bacteria or virus genes that not occur in nature. Then this discuss will find out if it is necessary for our lives. The first benefit of genetically modified food is better tolerance to various aspects, ranging from weather to environment. Once introduced into the genes of cold water fish, the transgenic plants were able to survive at low temperatures. Furthermore, some genetically modified foods can be grown in drought-stricken areas. These can benefit people who live in extreme weather. Genetically modified foods are one of the ways to increase food supplies in the future. However, GMO still has many negative limitations. In humans, the number one most common side effect of consuming GM foods is allergic reaction. This allergic reaction happens when a certain protein/allergen present in the GM crop enters the body and stimulates an immune system. It can also increase the production of toxins to levels already harmful to almost people. Some genetically modified foods have been reported to have no nutritional value. As genetic engineering tends to focus more on increasing yields, extending their lifespan and preventing pests and diseases, the nutritional value of certain crops is sometimes affected. As you can see, the disadvantages of GM crops are much greater than simply harming our health. In terms of its environmental impact, toxicity is a major crop-related problem. Despite some limitations, we cannot deny the contribution of genetically modified foods. However, people should also limit their use and focus on using natural products to avoid health problems.