Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of advertisements

Advertising is now an essential part of our life. Different types of ad can be seen on TV, radio or even road posters. Whether advertising is beneficial or not remains controversial, people have different views about how ads impact our lives. In my opinion, there are both positive and negative effects of advertising. It cant’t be denied that advertising has several advantages. First, it helps customers to make smarter purchase decisions. The appearance of ads allows people to learn about new products, services and meet their needs. They can easily compare the cost and qualities among different kinds of product then decide which is the most suitable for them. More over, advertising now being a key part of modern business. Companies need to tell customers about their products and services while advertising is the most effective way to spread the information to the public. For example, in 1988, Nike created the “Just Do It” campaign which was a hit that helped Nike sales raised by 3 times in a year. (Also, in recent years, advertising has become educational and thought-provoking. Messages of love, friendship, family or even enviromental protection were included in several ads and have been well received by the audience. ) However, the negative effects of advertising on our society have to be mentioned. One problem is advertisers often aim their marketing at the young age groups who can easily be influenced by advertisements. This lead to the pressure of parents whose children always pestering and nagging to buy them things thay they saw on commercials. Not only that, some people are now persuaded to follow all the lastest trends and fashions. Through some attractive and eye-catching adverstisements, customers are willing to buy a new product even though their old ones are still perfectly in a good condition. To conclude, although advertising has both advantages and drawbacks, I believe that the benefits it brings outweigh the disadvantages. Nevertheless, I recommend that advertising should be strictly regulated by the governments so that it can be used in proper ways.