Discuss how HR managers can indirectly discriminate minorities with the focus on race, gender, and social status.

It appeared that today minorities face increasing inequality in the work place. HR managers who are empowered by organizations can discriminate minor groups by denying them jobs through specific biases. Either they propagate organizational policy or their personal prejudices is clearly undefined, but this essay suggests probable patterns of inequality at work that persons face on the basis of their race, sex or social background. Despite the popularity of diversity management initiatives, racism might unconsciously entered the labor market, gradually forming an employment policy toward minority groups. In fact, organizations allow HR managers a high level of control while they tend to hire according to their own preferences when recruiting a potential employee. Judging a candidate by her or his race, recruiters are likely to underestimate their talent, artificially minimizing its significance. Statistically, three out of ten candidates get an economic opportunity to reinforce their status. It is, perhaps, a subtle form of discrimination, when an individual’s professionalism is undermined in the form of solidarity and involvement. On the other hand, individuals face another form of human rights violation – gender inequality. Although discrimination against women may involve various aspects such as salaries, hiring, or personal discrimination, one of the most important issues is considered to be career advancement. It may take longer time for women to get promotion in comparison to men. As a result they experience lower salaries, status, opportunities which lead to personal dissatisfaction and stress. Such discrimination, probably, may result from company’s policy and organizational structure. However, HRs subjective decisions may hugely contribute to women’s promotions. Social status may be one of the key factors when selecting a candidate. It works for both genders similarly. Frequently, HRs want to see an experienced, successful individual, but they reluctantly want to contribute to one’s promotion. According to numerous surveys, the older person is the more social judgment he or she is subjected. It is not so easy to start a career at thirty two even if the one possesses appropriate competencies for a position. To summarise, minority groups are vulnerable communities. By making subjective decisions, HRs may directly discriminate them by color of their skin, sex or social status. In other words, managers may undervalue individuals’ talents, to influence negatively on woman’s promotion, or to skip a skillful candidate because of one’s lower status. In fact, every human being deserves to be an equal part of social community and not to be discriminated by any kind of distinction.