discuss advantage and disavantage

Several companies have the policy of paying bonus money as a form of reward to the employees with excellent work. This method has its benefits as well as drawbacks. In this essay, I want to discuss both sides of the issue and draw a conclusion. One of the most remarkable advantages of rewarding good work with money is that it encourages a friendly competitive spirit among colleagues. Intending to win the handsome prize, company-workers are more likely to increase their work proficiency by putting their mind on the task and finish it earlier than others. In addition, keeping a record of who is doing a great job and who is not shows the employees that their superiors are watching over them, and their efforts are appreciated. Knowing their contribution to the company is being noticed may urge the members of staff to be more whole-hearted in what they do. Having said that, the employment of this scheme can also cause conflicts in the working environment. In many cases, in the race to become the top banana, the intensity can take arguments too far and break the relationship between co-workers, which goes against the initial purpose of creating a positive competitive atmosphere. Another downside to be discussed is that it discourages the enthusiasm of those with limited professional competence, in other words, the employees who can’t compete against others. Not everyone is capable of being in the spotlight. Within their ability, some can only make small contributions as a part of a team or do handy works. Watching others being excellent and rewarded is not exactly comforting. All things considered, using money as a rewarding method has its positives and negatives. The bonus can create a competitive atmosphere in the workplace and let employees know that their contribution is appreciated. On the other hand, the friendliness of the scheme can always be broken and not everyone can benefit from it. From my viewpoint, a smart employer knows how to balance out the pros and cons and make the best use of their juniors.