Write about the advantages and disadvantages of tourism.

Tourism has a double-edged impact on our lives. On the positive side, it is significantly beneficial to the economy, employment and construction. For instance, most passengers who travel to the UK are Chinese, and each of them spend 1690 pounds for it. As a result, every 747 of them provides 1 million pounds for the UK economy. Apparently, with a massive scale of visitors, domestic tourism generated 77 billion pounds per annum, leading to the growth by 0. 9% in the economy. Moreover, a growing tourism enabled 1, 5 million people to be employed with 58, 000 new jobs and 249, 000 tourism businesses. Likewise, the UK had reached the innovation of scenery: thousand miles of waterways, walking tracks were constructed. On the negative side, some residents around the world have been protesting against tourism because of its detrimental impacts. First and foremost, overcrowding in some tourist attractions causes traffic congestion, even on Mount Everest. Apart from that, visitors consume heaps of water and food and throw it carelessly that damage the destination. To illustrate, in Indonesia, Bali’s famously pristine beaches are now being swamped by garbage. Also, local residents are fed up with the bad behaviour of the drunk tourist, to the extent that fines are being issued to those who drink alcohol in public. Last but not least, the reason people are so bored with tourism is the rise in prices, particularly housing prices, making the tenants pay more. Fortunately, there are some solutions to solve these problems, and make our travels more comfortable.