Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some think that discipline should be the responsibility of the teachers while others think that this is the role of the parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

With the affluence of western culture and modernisation in all the countries, the youth of this generation are truly opposite as that of our parents generation. Discipline is a virtue that needs to be practised by each individual from early childhood. In this essay we will discuss how parents and teachers play a vital role in a child’s disciplinary aspect. In my opinion, parents play an important role in inculcating value and ethics in their children. Nowadays, teachers in modern schools have entirely different approaching in their teaching methods than that of the traditional methods. It is undeniable that teachers are the pivotal of mentorship and imparting education from the beginning of a child’s life but responsibility of shaping the child’s ethics, values and discipline cannot solely rely in the hands of teachers. For example, recent study conducted by Harvard university, said that 85 percentage of child’s behaviour is directly influenced by their parents. In other words, parents constitute large amount of influence on their child’s overall development. Since birth when a child is born, they pick up major habits and imitate their parents. Therefore, parent’s are mainly responsible in imparting discipline in children as they spend the entire childhood nurturing and inculcating prime values onto them which is carried by the child for their entire life. According to scientific studies done by WHO, 55 percent of genetics of the parents are inherited by the children which also included the social and mental behaviour of the child. In my opinion, parents play the major role in shaping the child’s future by guiding the child in step of their life and also imparting the right kind of attitude and discipline necessary to lead their lives as they spend the entire childhood majorly growing up with the parents.