disagree that foreign languages should be compulsory

First, that learning a new language is compulsory can easily interrupt the development of the students’ mother tongue. Since learning a foreign language is extremely time-consuming, these periods which can be utilized in educating students on their mother-tongue are replaced. For example, as a student, while I only have four Literature lessons a week, the number of English lessons in a week is five. Compared on a larger scale, there is a significant gap between the time I learn English and the time I learn Vietnamese. And in my daily life, even being a native speaker, I sometimes find it difficult to find a phrase to express myself or to describe things in Vietnamese. Therefore, learning a foreign language should remain as a choice for students who have a stable basis in their first language. Secondly, as every child is born with different abilities, it is unwise to require every student to learn languages. In fact, forcing children who have no natural ability or interest in foreign languages to learn them can be overwhelming and stressful for both teachers and students. Take my friend as an example, gifted with an amazing mathematical mindset, he can solve complicated math problems. While he is focused and well-mannered in math class, he becomes a disruptive student in English class since he has no interest in English and is forced to participate in the class. Therefore, not only is his academic performance in English terrible, but also my teacher is always unpleasant and furious. As a result, it is better if the students have the right to choose what they learn based on their talents and interests.