Development of tourism contributes English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

In this contemporary world, it is an undeniable fact that tour and travel industry make English language compulsory all over the world. However, while these changes have bought many benefits to the society, it can be argued that these changes would also result in negative. This essay will discuss about the advantages of single language all over the universe followed by the disadvantages. To begin with, there are some obvious benefits of having a single language rather than multiple local languages. One main advantage is the ease of communication among several countries which helps an individual to communicate with other nation people effectively. For example, a US citizen can freely communicate with a Japanese and this would helps in increasing the revenue of Japan in terms of tourism. Furthermore, an individual can also share ideas and thoughts to other people if they communicate in same language. Another reason that single language would be advantageous is that it would help economic growth. If all people speak in the same language, there would be less barrier in export and import of goods and therefore trade would increase between the countries which results in a healthier world economy. Hence, it is clear that one global language can be beneficial to all. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks to having only language. Firstly, all other languages would be diminished and disappear at sometimes. Although it is possible to make English the primary language of a country, it is really difficult for every country to attain the level of fluency as a native speaker. Moreover, the accent differs from one country to another. For instance, Canada and Australia have English as their primary language and it is very difficult to other country people to speaks fluently. Secondly, it results in collapse of tourism because there would be no reason to travel for pleasure and interest if all countries speaks in same language and similar culture. Each culture is unique in their local language. Thus, this would affect many countries that are rely on tourism as a source of income. In conclusion, a single universal language is definitely beneficial for every country and improves the relationship among them, but it is certainly detrimental for the local language and damages the local culture in future.