Development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language. Some people thunk this will lead to English becoming the only langyage spoke globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

English has become a widely spoken language, thanks to the rapidly growing tourism industry. Due to this, it is thought by many that English might become the most prominent language in the world. While this will aid understanding and economic growth, there will be negative effects too. The first and foremost advantage of the having one single language is that the communication gap between nations will diminish. As a result, the concept of ‘One World’ will truly have its meaning. This will also promote more tourism as people will not have to go through the hustle of carrying translation books or use Google translator while travelling to various countries around the world. One more evident benefit of having a dominant language would be economic growth. Businesses will flourish in all parts of the world as the barrier of distinct dialects will longer be prevalent. People will invest in economies worldwide thus developing healthy relations with numerous nations. Despite of the many positive sides of having English as the only spoken language, there are some drawback too. Firstly, having one global language would lead to disappearance of other regional languages. The main component that makes up these different cultures is the dialect. If that is lost, these traditions and customs will become hollow with no meaning left to them. Secondly, while tourism might thrive, there are chances that people might lose interest in travelling abroad as there will be no cultural diversity. By speaking the same language, there will be nothing new for people learn and gain information from. In conclusion, although there are plus points of having one global language, mankind will lose a lot because of it. In order that our future generations can witness the existing rich heritage, efforts should be made to preserve it.