In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

The use of mobile payment apps has been gaining immense popularity in a majority of nations. There are some pros and some cons when it comes to these mobile apps. However, its advantages over weigh disadvantages, and the use of these applications provide extreme convenience and security over carrying traditional currency. Convenience is one of the vital advantage that these mobile apps have brought to our lives. Technology has made it possible to go out on shopping without ever to worry about carrying enough money with us, and it also helps in restricting our physical contact with others in these times of Covid-19 pandemic. For instance, almost all supermarkets, departmental stores and malls in United Arab Emirates are either offering online services to make payments, or have facilities to pay with mobile applications in-store. Secondly, what mobile applications offer is Security. Since people has stopped carrying large amount of currencies, the crime that involves robberies, theft and snatching has also dropped along with it. Although, we cannot discount on security of these mobile applications either and one should always use applications that are trusted, reliable and secured. For example, Google offers Google Pay as a payment application on their android platform, which has strong multilayers of security. In conclusion, every technology has its effects on their users and a large population has started to trust payment applications ever since they started to provide convenience and security to their users. These applications not only have made many lives easier, and also playing an important role to cope with the crimes today.