Development in technology has brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own view

It is inevitable and undeniable that our environment has been seriously polluted in recent years. What under controversy is whether we should live a simpler life or using the science and technology to preserve the environment. I believe that the effective solution for dealing with environmental problems is the improvement in technology. On the one hand, there are various reasons why people should live their lives with less sophisticated technology in order to make less damage on the ecosystems. If people decrease their needs of energy through overuse of devices such as private vehicles, air conditioning like fossil fuels can be minimized. Greenhouse gases and air pollution may be reduced, then this will lead us to simpler lives. On the other hand, there are people who say that technology alone could save the environment. There are lots of advances going on in technology, which are helping the environment a lot. Firstly, people can come up with ways to recycle materials such as paper or glass which reduces the problem of waste disposal. Secondly, technology can also help to create electricity using newable resources. Furthermore, emails are used by every individual on a daily basis. This hepy to save paper and to reduce the number of trees cut down. For instance, a company sends out hundreds of emails every day without the use of technology, they will be using papers to convey the messages. Thus, massive numbers of trees are saved every year. In conclusion, in my opinion, both sides of the arguments have their own pros and cons. Although it might seem sensible for people who choose a simpler way of life, I personally prefer to enjoy lifestyle in which technology plays an important innovator.