Despite the fact that a proportion of people negate the benefits of distance learning, especially due to the risk of alienation as a result of the lack of face-to-face contact, I would insist that offering online courses has a definite positive effect on the student community.

Despite the fact that a proportion of people negate the benefits of distance learning, especially due to the risk of alienation as a result of the lack of face-to-face contact, I would insist that offering online courses has a definite positive effect on the student community. Flexibility at the course structure is the main benefit which occurs by the implementation of new technologies in the traditional teaching scheme. More and more people choose to follow an undergraduate or even a postgraduate course in order to chase a better career or a higher income. It is more than clear that synchronizing this large number of population is a really demanding task and is restricted even more by the limited size of the universities’ infrastructure. So, exploiting the widespread use of the Internet in order to control this ever-increasing number of students seems an ideal option. To conclude, I believe that online courses can provide students with an equally high level of education as the traditional teaching and expand far beyond the limits of learning.