Despite its drawbacks, distance learning provides great learning options for students.

In this day and age, the development of technology has popularized distance-learning and teaching activities, especially in the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic. Despite its drawbacks, distance learning provides great learning options for students. On the first hand, distance-learning has some shortcomings. First, there are some concerns about how students grasp lessons. Despite its convenience, learning online can deprive students of lecturers’ direct instructions and make them feel less involved in learning activities, regardless of external distractions like facilitation access or study environment. To illustrate, a study conducted in the UK reported that 58% of students were less engaged in online classes than in normal ones. As a result, lessons could not be fully delivered and students’ understanding is limited. Second, the course outcome is likely to be less reliable. Distance classes need to hold exams or annual tests via online platforms or use various combinations of assessment methods, such as portfolios, essays or projects. This results in questions about the credibility of degrees due to inequality in facilitating conditions and the likelihood of cheating in exams. On the other hand, apart from the concerns expressed above, joining distance courses is an ideal method of learning in this era. Online distancing courses provide learners with great flexibility and convenience. With distance learning programs, students can pursue and complete their desired courses regardless of geographical distance and time as long as they have devices connected to the Internet. More importantly, they can learn at their own pace different people learn in different ways and at different speeds. As a result, students are more likely to feel less stressed about their learning which leads to better absorption of knowledge. Additionally, holding online courses is a way of saving money, both for the institutions and for learners. Generally, the cost of online-based education programs is lower compared to those offered in brick-and-mortar institutions and taking an online course also eliminates the costs associated with commuting. From this, students can save a great deal of money for more necessary expenses. In conclusion, although learning and assessment is less controlled, distance courses have various advantages including its flexibility and saving.