Describe one of the most important inventions in recent 100 years. Explainwhy it is so important. Your explanation should include specific examplesand details.

These days, consumerism is a topic of debate. Whether the necessity of an object is overshadowed by the power of its advertisement or not Is often argued. While it is undeniable people are driven to consumption by need, I wholeheartedly believe people buy goods based on how popular they are in their community. On the one hand, many put forth the argument that some goods are absolute necessities. Whether or not some produts are advertised they will still be bought because they are needed day to day. An example of this is a bed, everyone needs one to sleep in at night, therefore it will always have a market demand. On the contrary, 2014 market rates of a famous well advertised beds like ‘Comfy’ showed that it has a higher market dominancy than normal store brought mattress'. Consequently, regardless of necessity, high exposure products have higher ratings. It is also argued that some people don’t even have the luxury of indulging in expensive products because they simply cannot afford it. Therefore, the advertisement is reaching them, but not affecting them. On the other hand, I believe the majority of purchases these days are made solely on their advertisement potential. Individuals tend to follow famous people showing off products. For example, in the makeup industry, Kylie Jenner -a famous reality TV star- launched a makeup line in 2019. Which succeeded due to its popularity amongst teenagers who access her advertisements through her Instagram online page. In addition to this, it is natural human nature to want to fit in and feel equal to everyone else. This is often done through purchasing popular brands that are promoted under a better light. A great example of this is apple! Although they sell their phones for triple the price of any phone on the market, people still buy them purely due to their good promotion potentiol. In conclusion, I re-affirm my belief that people are society-driven, and make their purchases based on how well they are publicized as opposed to how much they need them. In the future, I hope people are less influenced by show and driven by necessity.