26. Describe one of the most important inventions in recent 100 years. Explainwhy it is so important. Your explanation should include specific examplesand details.

Due to the advancement in technology, computers can save large amounts of data without costing anything. Some people believe that computers should be used instead of traditional libraries and other not. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence as to why traditional libraries should be replaced by the computers. Computers and e-books are much more cost effective than traditional libraries. Even though the traditional methods of reading books are more preferable by some people, the maintenance cost of these are very high while that of e-books in computer is negligible as it is too low. For instance, the average monthly running cost of a library in a small town is around 2000 USD, which includes the salaries of employees, electricity and water bills, building rent etc. Therefore, using computers and e-books instead of using traditional library is good in terms of running costs. Reading and finding books on the computers are a lot more convenient than the ordinary libraries. To go into detail, in the traditional libraries, searching for a specific book is not an easy task while in the computers, we can do that in seconds. For instance, as per the latest survey of the Indian Express newspaper, it is found that the reading habit of the younger generation has been increased since the arrival of e-books. They claim that, although reading books on a computer is not good for the eyes, finding books in computer is much easier than going to an old fashioned library and finding them. Due to this, e-books are more in terms of convenience. In conclusion, The use of computers has reduced the human efforts in many fields. While reading in computer can cause eye strain, replacement of old fashioned libraries with the computers is a good thing as it is more money saving and convenient method. If we are replacing all of our libraries with the computers, we save a lot of resources and time.