Describe a holiday that is important in your country. You should say: 1. When the festival occurs 2. What you did during it 3. What you like or dislike about it 4. Explain why this holiday is important

Tet holiday or Lunar New Year is an occasion that celebrates the arrival of spring and marks the beginning of a new year in Western Calendar. It usually takes place from the end of January till the end of February every year. Asian often use lunar calendar occurring to the Moon to count the exact dates, so the period of the year is in the spring season when the weather is nice enough for the events and carnivals. Before the festival, what people should do is a complete spring cleaning which means they will have to tidy their house as well as decorate the ancestor’s altar which is the spiritual symbol of the holiday carefully with five- fruit trays, incenses, candles, and peach or apricot blooms. It’s also the way people want to expel the bad lucks and to be ready for the good lucks in the new year. On New Year’s Eve, generally, there is a firework display. Moreover, each family has to carry out a New Year’s Eve ritual. They often choose the First caller who is suitable for the house owner’s age to come to their house to bring good luck. During the Tet, they usually have some traditional customs such as going to the pagoda on the first day of the New Year to pray for Health, Happiness, Luck & Prosperity, visiting friends and relatives’ houses where they will give children lucky money and feed on big, delicious meals with some special delicacies like square sticky rice cake, dried bamboo shoots, jellied meat, pickled leeks, and pork paste. Vietnamese really consider this festival essential for them for some reasons. First and foremost, after a long time of work and study, it is a chance when they can get together with their family and friends to catch up with their life’s stories. Second, since it is a long holiday, they have the opportunity to recharge their batteries after a tense and hard-working year.