Dependancy on technology

Stepping into the 21st century, thanks to the development of technology, our lives have turned out to be more convenient. On the other hand, this also raises the controversy that we are gradually becoming reliant on computer-based technology. As technology will change and influence more in the future, I believe that taking advantage of technology is a good thing but depending on it will bring several potential dangers. To begin with, a majority of aspects will be transformed in the future due to technological advancements, especially education. During the COVID-19 pandemic, computer-based technology has been applied widely into education in order to resolve the problem of social distancing. In the prospective scenario, online learning can be the new concept for education of all levels when online meeting platforms such as Zoom and Microsoft Teams are more developed and stable. For example, besides the traditional learning methods, schools can provide extra classes and exercises or upload learning materials on their websites. In addition, online shopping and electronic payment will grow further thanks to the technological achievements and the support from Artificial Intelligence. This will affect people's shopping habits and contribute to boost the national economy. It is undeniable that technology has made our lives easier and more convenient, however, in my point of view, the dependency on it has numerous hidden negative effects. First of all, people will communicate less in real life, instead texting and posting photos on social media. A number of teenagers now show poor communication skills or lack of care for their families as they are too reliant on equipment. Another issue is that the more people depend on technology, the less job opportunities there are for them in the future. Machinery is more and more developed that can replace people doing several jobs, for instance product assembly, manufacturing and calculation. In conclusion, I believe that computer-based technology will advance further and people cannot deny its use. Instead, we can be aware of its drawbacks and avoid relying on it.