Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them?

It is true that when motorists and cyclists share the same roads, accidents involving these road users are common. While this is a serious issue, there are measures which can be implemented to reduce the dangers. The major problem is the likelihood of accidents on roads which are used by both cyclists and car drivers. Such accidents frequently result in grave injuries, particularly to cyclists who are particularly vulnerable, even when wearing a helmet for head protection. While cyclists are sometimes responsible for causing accidents when they do not abide by the rules of the road, motorists often fail to be aware of other road users. For example, car drivers may not leave enough room when they overtake cyclists, or they may turn left or right without realizing that this could put a cyclist at risk. Since cars frequently travel at high speeds, cyclists have little chance to react in such situations. In order to reduce the number of road accidents and save lives, national and local authorities across the world have adopted two general types of policies. Firstly, many governments have prioritized expenditure on road safety. They have invested in transport infrastructure by measures such as upgrading and expanding public transport provision and constructing dedicated cycle lanes on busy roads. Secondly, authorities have introduced restrictions on car drivers. London, for instance, has imposed a congestion charge to discourage motorists from entering the centre. Traffic calming in cities and installing speed cameras also make the roads safer for cyclists. In conclusion, although there are real dangers when car drivers and cyclists use the same roads, steps can be taken to reduce these risks.