Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, some people think that getting experience in developing soft skills is more important. discuss both sides and give your opinion,

It is commonly believed by some people that university education is one of the best way to secure a good job whereas others think that having an experience and good soft skills is the key. In my opinion, a balance of both of these is required to get a job of our preference. Having a University degree has numerous advantages to candidates applying for highly competitive jobs. Firstly, the criteria of selection for major recruiters lies behind the attainment of the highest degree of an individual’s educational qualifications. This is evidently observed in the recruitment drives of various Information Technology companies hiring Software Engineers who prefer to look for professionals having relevant education that is beneficial for their firm. Moreover, various academic vacancies such as a Senior Research fellow, Assistant Professors demand university level education of candidates that are willing to apply. On the other hand, there are various Multi National Companies and Business Corporations that hire candidates having relevant experience in the respective field or acquired soft skills such as interpersonal or communication skills. These key factors help a candidate to secure a job in such firms that do not primarily demand higher qualifications over such skills. Furthermore, the pay scales of working professionals having some previous experience in a related field is way higher than what a fresher with a university degree would get. Therefore, in my opinion, having a university degree shall be significantly beneficial for someone looking for an academic job, whereas, work experience and having certain soft skills helps candidates to stand out of the crowd in order to get selected for a job in the corporate sector.