Cybercrimes- Challenges faced by parents and children

Parenting in the digital area has been the biggest challenge. We have realized that technology has hit us at jet speed and we cannot handle it. We don't understand it and we are fearful of it. On the other hand, children are over-enthusiastic and curious about the online world. Children also carry a tremendous burden of balancing the offline and online world. They are struggling academically and fighting the peer force to be online, to create content, and to be accepted. Our theory of change is based on the 5 pillar strategies for educating parents and children to build a holistic preventive approach: 1. Understand the cybercrimes committed by children and which children are more vulnerable. 2. Understand the psychological impacts of irresponsible online behavior and how it can affect your personality and behaviour? 3. Teach technical tips needed to handle devices: As basic as how to keep a Wi-Fi password to how to report content on social media platforms, and parental control. 4. Understand legal implications of online behaviour. When a minor commits a cybercrime, parents or the guardian will have to face the consequences as the SIM cards are given only to adults. 5. Learn how to report cybercrimes and seek help. The