Cybercrime and how not to be its victim

Cybercrime has become a serious issue as internet emerges in 21st century. Due to the fact that, countless number of people don’t know how to protect themselves on the internet, they have become an easy target for hackers. as they can easily break into your computer and cause major inconvenience. Even though, there are laws regarding to Cybercrime, unfortunately it isn’t sufficient enough to halt them. So, this essay will focus on what’s cybercrime and how not to be its victim. First, let’s talk about Cybercrime. Briefly its criminal activities carried out by means of computers or the internet. For instance, a person whose experienced in computers can effortlessly break into your computer, and steal critical information such as bank account details, thus stealing tons of money. As of 2020 International Information Forces confirmed 791, 790 cases regarding to cybercrime in US. Therefore, estimated 3. 1 billion dollars stolen by hackers and scammers. Although there are numerous amounts of police, detectives and agents are working to prevent these cybercriminals from causing inconvenience, unfortunately survey done by Computer Forensic Services, estimated that less than 1% of hackers actually gets caught and convicted. This raises a question, how can you avoid getting hacked, how can you defend yourself against it. The answer is quite simple, don’t click on suspicious sites and links, since hackers will use these to lure people in to their claws. If you happen to click on one, your sensitive information, as such as your location, security numbers and credential data will all be exposed to the hacker. In conclusion, at contemporary age we all depend on the internet whether we like it or not, because it’s quite useful. However, it can be frightening and dangerous as well, therefore be careful when using the internet. Be cautious on what you click on, also don’t trust unknown sites and links. That way you can still enjoy the internet and be safe while doing it.