Culture differences in new country

People who migrate to other countries might face significant obstacles related to foreign languages, where they may face difficulties in engaging with social interactions and other practical challenges. While those obstacles may materialise into problems, this is not always the case because it depends on how well the host country work to accept migrants and the robustness of language learning in this modern era. Nowadays, countries across the world are interdependent to each other on many aspects. Therefore, it is highly impossible that one country could not survive in this globalised era, let alone thrive. Migration from one country to another is common phenomenon and the volumes of people leaving their country to stay in another country have been observed to be increasing in the last four decades. Many countries, particularly the highly developed ones with a longstanding history of accepting migrants have been well-prepared in facilitating newcomers to come and stay in their country. The protocols of visa issuance, in which the measures regulating language and skills requirements are included, have been considerably established to minimise social barriers after migrants arrive in their countries to stay and work or study. Institutions supporting migrants, either government-funded or not, have long been serving migrants well to train and teach them in assimilating in people with different cultures, norms and faiths in their new countries. In this vastly globalised era, we are not possible to live without internationally-recognised languages. The United Nations (UN) recognises six official languages – English, French, Spanish, Arabic, Mandarin and Russian – in recognising the importance of common communications platform to enhance relationship between nations. Learning foreign languages has long been embedded in national curriculums in majority of world countries, where some of them require the students to pass certain required language level before they leave school. Furthermore, language education in non-formal educational institutions, for example language courses centres, occupational training and other organisations widen the possibility for people to learn new languages. They help people not only in communicating in required language level to work or study, but also to know different cultures, to adapt, and master other practical skills, such as presentation, how to answer the phone, and interpreting charts and data. Entertainment industries, such as films and music, also help promote foreign languages as interesting subjects to learn and master. This tremendously facilitated atmosphere to learn new languages are essential tools for migrants to get to know common tongues spoken in the countries they intend to come in. As a conclusion, both social and technical problems may still a possibility for newcomers to face in their new countries. However, well-developed migration system and robustly facilitated atmosphere to learn new languages in the spirit of globalisation have served migrants well to adapt in new societies they live.