Advantages and disadvantages of Physical Education classes

Education systems around the world are similar in some ways, and very different in others. These differences can spark debates on a wide range of subjects, the need or lack thereof of Physical Education classes is one of them. There are many arguments for the inclusion of Physical Education in school curricula. First, PE classes can aid children’s development of social skills as it is more challenging to promote interaction in a more academic situation. This becomes particularly important for children after being quarantined for almost 2 years and being deprived of interaction entirely. The isolation that came with quarantine has also shown the high levels of stress that children can develop when focusing only on academic matters. Physical Education classes allow for stress relief and are therefore considered as essential by many, specially when trying to build a healthy academic experience for children. When it comes to arguments against PE classes the first one that comes to mind is the fact that the world is becoming more competitive by the second. Because of this, parents and teachers are becoming increasingly worried that PE classes can distract children from their studies and reduce their competitiveness when applying for higher education institutions. On the other hand, many parents believe that it is not the school’s responsibility to promote an active lifestyle, and as a result, they view PE as a waste of time and a deflection of responsibility by other parents. When arguing for or against Physical Education classes, we need to remember that children’s cognitive development can not come exclusively from academic subjects, nor can it come from exclusively physical subjects. That is why, in my opinion, a balance needs to be found between both, and while this balance does not necessarily mean equal time dedicated to each, it does mean at least some time dedicated to both.