Culture affects perception, and perceptions drive behavior. Thus, the culture we belong to has a

Culture affects perception, and perceptions drive behavior. Thus, the culture we belong to has a direct impact on our behavior. Moreover, our environment, which has cultural influences, shapes our behavior. Behavioral and communication etiquette is a part of our culture. What our culture teaches us affects the way we interact socially. People from some cultures are found to be more open in communicating even with strangers or new acquaintances, while those from conservative cultures may not be so open. The difference between ideologies their cultures have is thus evident in their social behavior. Another example of behavior-creating culture and vice versa is the culture of competition. Children in most societies learn to compete with other children at an early age. They compete in intelligence in school; they compete in physical appearance when they enter beauty pageants or when mothers praise them by belittling other children. Children go on to grow up with the behavior to compete and be better than the next person. The culture of competition grows and prevails as a result.