Crises often refute conventional wisdom, and this one reveals the underlying weakness of the Lebanese political class.

Crises often refute conventional wisdom, and this one reveals the underlying weakness of the Lebanese political class. Lebanon hasn’t any of its own interests on international arena and remains merely a doll tightly kept in hands of others. Same cannot be said about Russia yet it is not a leader but still competes with other countries such as The US, China, Germany and so on. Though if we have a closer look at the domestic policy of Lebanon and Russia I believe that the way the government is chosen in both countries is unfair, unjust. But whether the corrupt election affects Russians excessively without doubt it does so to Lebanese. And since we live in democratic society people here and there are free to choose their own way of living their own interests that they pursue the people are supposed to be free to speak out and to be heard. I can’t mention the fact that Russia isn’t a free country in sense of political rights and civil liberties, for instance mass media is full of censorship… while Lebanon is not completely but partly free. Freedom of speech is guaranteed, and independent mass media exist which are mostly privately owned. Moreover when the people gather together and take to the streets ( I refer to the Revolution in 2019 which I personally think didn’t lead anywhere) to fight for their rights no one dares to stop them.