Freedom of information is good or bad

Having the opportunity to be informed about what is happening in the country, is an essential component of public rights. Some people argue that we should not be able to know whatever we like, but others do not have the same view. On one hand, freedom of information improve the relationship between citizens and authorities. This is due to the fact that people expect transparancy in government and if they feel free to enquire about details they need, there won't be massive waves of demonstrations every month. Consequently, it leads to a more civilized society. On the other hand, there are some controversial reasons why freedom of data should be limited. Some people abuse freedom and utilize it for illegal purposes like threat and violence in society. There should be a type of consideration about publication of secret information in order not to cause serious damages. As a result, hiding secrets is only useful for the purpose of waging war. To avoid war and have a safer country, not revealing private information is an advantage. To be concluded, freedom of information is extremely important and government should pay special attention to provide this chance for people. However, I estimate that in some situations, which I have mentioned, there have to be some limits.