Some people argue that everyone should do a year of community service at some point in their lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of compulsory community service.

It is argued if the year of community service is compulsory and a person therefore should sacrifice a specific part of one’s own life. As for me, I firmly believe that practicing a myriad of social activities ought to provide quite beneficial effect on citizen’s responsibility as well as way more benefits rather than drawbacks in general. This essay will observe a plethora of pros and cons on this discussion subject. First of all, an abundance of specific type of activities like community service will provide a number of benefits. Hence, an initial benefit from this case is improvement and magnification of responsibility. Moreover, volunteering escalates one’s self-confidence, thus expands self-esteem as well as life satisfaction. In fact, it is considered that such activities reduce person’s stress and besides that, helps you stay physically and mentally healthy. In addition, this subject makes a great deal in terms of making friends and improve one’s social and relationship skills. However, despite all of these favors, there are also a downside of this trend. The primary drawback of this context is that mandatory volunteer service provides payment. It is obvious that volunteer jobs are underpaid or unpaid at all. Therefore, in light of this fact, doubts and discontents are arisen in some segments of the population. Likewise, since the process is compulsory, by the end of the day it becomes extremely time consuming. Thus, people who use to spend time of this activity don’t have enough time for their daily bases throughout the day. Another compelling argument against the compulsion of doing social work is the obvious fact that being forced to do something can make person feel oneself mad instead of proud. In conclusion, I can say with confidence once again that, although the duty of holding community service may bring some disadvantages, I strongly believe that pros like strengthening relationships as well as improvement of self-confidence will always outweigh its downsides.