criminals punishment, and intentions

Crimes are hugely increasing in countries these days. There is a wide range of crimes from stealing to killing, each has its own punishment. Many people believe that, there must be a unique punishment for each type of crime, however in the eyes of others, the circumstances, and motivation behind committing a crime should be taken into consideration before punishing. Many say that all criminals are equal, and deserve to be equally punished. A person who turns into a criminal, and kills other person, despite the reason of killing, must be punished on what he did, by admitting him to prison for life, or being killed by a gallows, in the light of the fact that another victim will be under his mercy in case he went out free. There are no guarantees that a rapist won't another girl in case he is out of jail, thus more people are being put in danger for the fact of believing a criminal that he wouldn't sins anymore. Moreover, stealing to afford basic needs for a family, won't make stealing a good thing or a pros. A lot of people believe that certain circumstances must be taken into consideration, and that not all criminals has the intention of hurting others. A criminal who kills in cold blood, isn't in the same position as that killing due to being terrified, despite the fact that in both cases it is called murder, but circumstances are different, and punishments must not be equivalent. Moreover, a thief stealing to afford daily needs, isn't identical to that stealing for the sake of fun, or just hurting people. Many people suggest that, punishments must be identical to all types of criminals, however others believe that life may put anyone in a case where he is obliged to make a sins, thus punishments must be classified depending on the criminal's intention. For the aforementioned reasons, and in my point of view, regardless of the circumstances all criminals must be punished.