Crime related news is covered in newspapers and television. Some people say that there should be Government interception regarding this. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Print as well as electronic media is full of news items related to violence, bloodshed and crimes. It is pertinent to show the true coverage of all these horrific happenings, however, overexposure to this reporting may lead to adverse impact on the minds of the vulnerable public. Some people are of the outlook that Government should filter the contents as well as the extent of what needs to be reported. This essay will scrutinize the given statement thoroughly to reach complete agreement with it that exaggerated repetition of such information should be restricted by the authorities. Society today is manifested with dreadful crimes. The newspapers are sprinkled with horrible details and shocking pictures of the ghastly incidents. The televisions and social media sites cover the crime news repeatedly. While, it is necessary to bring such information to everyone’s notice so that the criminals may be brought to book, showing the same news items again and again is undesirable. They get revengeful ideas and the crime in their minds is aggravated. The opinion that the Government should step up to control the over presentation of the crime reports is a wise idea. Only the required news should be relayed. The repetitive and emotional coverage should be entirely avoided as it adds fuel to the already agitated minds. For instance, an insignificant incident of an argument between two citizens of a town in Haryana recently assumed the form of riots just because it was blown out of proportions by the media. To conclude, it would be reiterated that focus should be on positive news. The violent news should be shown and the punishment to the criminals must also be highlighted. However, too much exaggeration needs to be avoided as it may be detrimental to the health of the society.