Crime rate has increased with the advancement of technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree on this statement

It is often argued that the criminals have become tech savvy and due to which crime rate has increased drastically. I completely agree with the opinion and think that with the advancement in technology, crime rate has increased significantly. First of all, Most of the people have switched to plastic money ie. debit/credit cards which enables a hacker to dent the card holder’s account which indeed has increased the rate of cyber theft. The hacker need not to be present in the nearby location, He can burgle into any account by sitting at remote location without leaving any trace. Another way of loot is that a malicious merchant can even make a clone of the card, which he can use later to transact anywhere outside. Reserve Bank of India data clearly states that the cyber crime rate has almost doubled in last couple of years. Secondly, advancements in technology has also enabled criminals to learn new methodologies to commit crime. There are a numerous videos available on video streaming websites such as YouTube viewing which can give new ideas to commit crime. In the rat race of carving out new content in online web series, spectators are exposed to different ways in which a criminal can escape after comitting a crime. Also, portraying criminals as heroic has adverse effect on children mindset, which makes them to believe committing crimes is a trend. To conclude, crime rate has increased with the advancement of technology and the society should understand that the content which they post on social media or video streaming websites can be destructive in nature.