Crime prevention rather than punishment is the key to solve the problem. Agree or disagree

It is often said that preventing crime would help with decreasing crime rate more than imposing punishment to criminals. To some extent, I do agree that crime prevention can address the problem, while I also believe that giving punishment to perpetrators can be a great solution as well. On the one hand, the opinion on preventing crime is attractive. The primary reason is that it works on reducing the number of people committing crime, but no one will have to be imprisoned. This will lead to a more civilized society as less people do time, while crime rate can be sorted out. For example, educating children at school from early ages about rudimentary law can cut down the number of potential lawbreakers down the road. This will work because they will grow up having a good base for laws, being able to tell which is an anti-social behaviour and how to prevent wrongdoings. On the other hand, even though crime prevention is helpful, it can not decrease the crime rate 100%. Especially, some cases when the criminals break the rules on purpose in spite of knowing about laws. Therefore, the government needs to give punishment to those who break the laws. For instance, a number of drug addicts will ignore the laws and attempt to commit crimes such as burglary, kidnapping or even murdering in order to have money to buy more drugs. Criminals in these serious crimes must be apprehended and given proper punishments. To conclude, while there are some benefits to prevent crimes, I also support giving punishment to lawbreakers in some serious cases which crime prevention does not impact