Creative artists should always be given freedom to express their own ideas in which ever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In many parts of the world, government restrictions over creativity forms from creative artists are arguable. An opinion from some people is that freedom should be given to creative artists to express their ideas in any way they want and government’s law should not interfere in it. This essay will discuss two main reasons I strongly agree by that opinion. Government restrictions usually come with punishments for the offender in which make the creative artists tend to be anxious and this situation will slowly decrease their creativity. This is caused by the stress hormones such as cortisol and adrenaline that pituitary glands produce when people are anxious. These hormones will block the brain to work best thus the artists’ creativity will slowly decrease. Recently, researchers from Harvard University found out that stress hormones will decrease your creativity by 18%. If this is continuously happening for a long time, we will never meet artists as creative as Picasso in the future. Linked to the reason above, restrictions over creativity violate people’s right to criticize the government. The way in which creative artists express their ideas is now becoming one of the ways to criticize government and if they interfere in it, then the social control through words, pictures, musics, or even films will be banned. This had happened in Indonesia in 1960s where the government strictly forbade any critics addressed to them. They even imprisoned artists who broke the rules. This violates people’s rights in criticizing the government. To recapitulate, government restrictions could give serious impacts on creativity and social control. Therefore, they should liberate creative artists to express their ideas in any form.