Many people prefer to have friends with similar views, while others see the advantage of disagreement.

Many people prefer to have friends with similar views, while others see the advantage of disagreement. I agree with the second statement because such disputes contribute to develop social skills and enhance honesty in a relationship. In what follows, I will fully explain my point of view. First, having different opinions helps to improve speaking and listening skills. This is because the incompatibility factor often provokes debate between friends, through which they begin to articulate their thoughts with more confidence and strength. For instance, according to a recent study published by a Polish psychologist in 2018, people who were friends with opposites have a higher social status, namely, occupying a higher position at work, being respected in teams, and having a family. Therefore, we can assume that minor discrepancies with companion increase our communicability. Secondly, discord in friendship is part and parcel of all sincere and truthful relationships. This is due to the fact that when two people are not trying to indulge each other, they discuss things honestly and openly without fear of being misunderstood. For example, a couple of decades ago, my mother met a woman who had little in common with her. The mother's choice made everyone else surprised, because these two girls did not have the same opinions, they were often concerned about various things, however after so many years their friendship still exists, for the reason that it is notable for them to hear each other’s thoughts. Consequently, there are benefits to having friends who do not possess the same mindset.