Covid atypical presentation

The novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) was first discovered in Wuhan, China in 2019. It was found to be extremely contagious, spreading rapidly throughout China and soon, the rest of the world. The World Health Organisation (WHO) recognized this disease as a pandemic in March 2020. As of May 2021, there have been 165. 5 million cases and 3. 4 million deaths worldwide. The SARS-COV-2 virus spreads via three basic ways. Inhaling particles as a result of close contact with a person positive for the virus, having droplets containing the virus come into contact with your nose, eyes and mouth, in addition to touching the nose, eyes and mouth with hands that have been contaminated with the virus. Prevention is through the appropriate wearing of suitable masks, proper hand washing techniques and social distancing, particularly during the peak waves. A wide array of symptoms and disease severity can be distinguished with COVID-19. Severity ranges from asymptomatic patients or with a mild upper respiratory tract infection to severe disease with viral pneumonia leading to respiratory failure and/or death. Some severe patients may also develop an exaggerated immune response to the viral replication occurring throughout the body, known as a 'cytokine storm', which may then lead to multi-organ failure. Patients with the severe disease often end up requiring hospital admission and mechanical ventilation for survival. According to the Centre for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), typical presentation/symptoms of COVID-19 include the following; fever with or without chills, cough that can be dry or productive, shortness of breath or difficulty breathing, headache, body aches, fatigue, nasal congestion or runny nose, sore throat, recent onset of loss of taste or smell, nausea or vomiting and diarrhea. However, as we progress further into this pandemic, we are seeing more and more unique cases with atypical presentation, testing positive for the disease. In this case, we see an atypical presentation of a 17 year old male, who came in with complains of fever, cough and right upper quadrant abdominal pain.