Covid-19 cases surge in some states as Americans celebrate Memorial Day weekend

Just because you can go to the beach or bars doesn't mean it's time to let your guard down. In fact, some states are seeing new spikes in coronavirus cases. "With the country starting to open up this holiday weekend, I again remind everyone that the coronavirus is not yet contained, " said Dr. Stephen M. Hahn, commissioner of the US Food and Drug Administration. "It is up to every individual to protect themselves and their community. Social distancing, hand washing and wearing masks protect us all. " Many Americans have flocked to parks, restaurants and beaches to celebrate Memorial Day weekend. In Alabama's Gulf Shores, "there are literally thousands of people out here on the beach, and what I'm really pleased to see is that many of these folks, almost all of them, are doing a great job with social distancing, " beachgoer Steve Ricks told CNN affiliate WPMI. But some ignored health warnings, despite new information that an estimated 40% of coronavirus transmissions occur before any symptoms. Video from a pool party at Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri, showed a massive crowd of people crammed together both inside and outside the pool. Saturday's footage came the same day Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson said several people who attended a swim party contracted Covid-19. Experts warn the US is nowhere near out of the woods with coronavirus. More than 1. 6 million Americans have been infected and over 97, 000 have died, according to Johns Hopkins University. "Look at the numbers. You'll see that on Thursday, more than 20, 000 Americans were infected, " said Dr. Seema Yasmin, a former disease detective at the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. On Friday, "that number went up, and there were more than 24, 000 Americans newly diagnosed with Covid-19. "