Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time.

It is believed that economies with extended working hours are more progressive than the countries with comparatively shorter working hours. I completely disagree with this statement and this essay will explain reasons for my argument. Firstly, longer duration of work is always associated with high cost to the government. To employ labor in any field of occupation, countries spend substantial amount of it’s revenue. If governments decided to increase the average 8 hours duration to 10 hours or more than that, it will obviously escalates the salary of employees as well as state expenditure on remuneration. For example, Japanese government pay twenty percent higher salary to the workers who agree to work extra hours. Consequently, it is common that many nations that have implemented lengthy working times have to face various challenges owing to increasing demand for salary increment. Thus, such policies are extremely problematic and challenging to implement successfully. Another point to consider is employees become less productive and efficient when it comes to longer job duration. It is a proven fact that when people engaged in similar activities in a longer period of time, the efficiency level and effectiveness decrease due to the fact that it is more exhausted. For example, some countries have become successful by applying 6 hours routine, in light of the fact that labors become more loyal and happy. Conversely, when Japan increased their duration of work, they have experienced increased suicidal rate among their employees due to work-place stress. Accordingly, it is clear that lengthy working hours have not always been economical. In conclusion, This essay argued that countries with extended duration of work not always successful due to high cost and lower productivity of employees. It is recommended to be more cautious when introducing such policies.