Countries should restrict foreign companies from opening offices and factories in order to protect local businesses. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

It is certainly true that many countries face the dilemma of whether to invite international companies for their economic development or diminish foreign enterprises to protect domestic businesses. I agree with those who believe that overseas firms should be invited to build their branches and factories in host countries for several reasons. In the first place, one of the most commonly cited reasons for which a government should encourage foreign enterprises to invest in their country is technological developments. To put it another way, technologies that are transferred to host countries in connection with foreign firms tend to be more state-of-the-art and environmentally eco-friendly than what is locally available. This will contribute to heightened productivity and sustainable development for domestic economies. To illustrate, the last fifteen years have witnessed a great increase in Korean companies’ cutting-edge technology transfers from Korea to Vietnam. As a result, Vietnam has achieved fast and maintained economic growth, according to Global Trade Magazine. In the second place, other significant reasons for this are employment generation and remarkable management skills. In other words, foreign firms could create numerous job opportunities with better salary options for local citizens. To give a clear example, Apple Company has several factories and offices all over the world, especially in China and they have employed more than fifty thousand workers just in Beijing, according to The New York Times. Moreover, overseas enterprises could bring superior management skills to the host countries through training programs. This could help these countries improve their own skills. In conclusion, although some people think that the government should limit overseas firms to protect domestic businesses, I support the idea that foreign companies should be encouraged to build their branches in the host countries because of some benefits, including the transfers of cutting-edge technology, superior management skills and employment generation.