Coronavirus disease is a deadly virus around the world

Coronaviruses are a family of viruses that can cause respiratory illness in humans. They are called “corona” because of crown-like spikes on the surface of the virus. Severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS), Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) and the common cold are examples of coronaviruses that cause illness in humans. The new strain of coronavirus — COVID-19 — was first reported in Wuhan, China in December 2019. The virus has since spread to all continents. The number of people infected changes daily. As of this writing (10/11/2021), more than 196, 910, 000 people in the world have been infected. Over 4, 850, 000 people have died. Some 192 countries and territories on all continents have now reported cases of COVID-19. COVID-19 enters your body through your mouth, nose or eyes (directly from the airborne droplets or from transfer of the virus from your hands to your face). The virus travels to the back of your nasal passages and mucous membrane in the back of your throat. It attaches to cells there, begins to multiply and moves into lung tissue. From there, the virus can spread to other body tissues.