In today's world, private companies rather than government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that there is an increasing number of private corporations embarking on researching over the government. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages. On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when private firms are responsible for carrying out scientific research. First, products from this process might not serve for the whole general public. Due to profit maximization, private corporations target customers who could afford their products. In reverse, governmental organizations pay more attention to the benefits of society as a whole rather than profit. Moreover, research on weapons or military field may be harmful to national security. Terrorists would take advantage of illegal weapon-manufacture and give rise to the region’s stability. Therefore, such research should only be conducted by governmental bodies. On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. The first reason is that the private organization would be in charge of research projects which relieve the pressure on the national budget. For example, a private Chinese firm has carried out human trails and developed Covid vaccine, which shares the heavy burden on the national healthcare system and accelerates a new finding serving for the humanity. Moreover, research funded by private corporations would drive to be more innovative and improve the quality of life. For example, A Vietnamese conglomerate, VIN Group, has done intensive research on car manufacturing and launched the first home-grown car in Viet Nam and introduced into the world. In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of this scientific research invested and directly performed over the government are more significant than the disadvantages. However, such research has to be well-supervised by the government to secure the possible risks.