Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Recent years have witnessed a dramatic change in the type of food people consume. Nowadays, convenience foods or most commonly known as processed foods form a major part of most people’s diet, especially in developed countries. Considering the strong influence of this trend on global food habits, it is often claimed that the popularity of such foods will rise substantially in the future and traditional foods will disappear. I completely agree with this statement. There are two main reasons why processed foods are likely to become more popular in the coming years. Firstly, the decline in family size and the increase in single-adult households have rendered cooking unnecessary. In the past, people lived in large families where one person looked after time-consuming domestic tasks such growing and preparing food. Definitely, this way of living was more economical in those times. But, in today’s fast-paced world, where nuclear and single parent families have become the norm, preparing food daily is often seen as a useless and boring activity. Secondly, the number of full-time working mothers is increasing day by day. Maintaining a fine balance between personal and work life has become a herculean task for many females. Most of them, therefore, prefer to use the fastest means of satisfying their children’s hunger. Since convenience foods take less time to prepare, they generally turn out to be the easiest option. Undoubtedly, this trend is a serious threat to the existence of traditional foods as our young children are highly likely to imitate what they see every day. To sum up, I strongly believe that there is a close relation between our way of living and food habits. In this modern world, people are choosing ready to eat foods over conventional foods for two main reasons mentioned above. If this trend continues, I have no doubt that traditional food will become a thing of the past.