The number of people interested in cosmetic surgery is increasing in order to improve their physical appearance. Why do people do operations to change the way they look? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is now a fact of our time that people who are not content with the way they look find the solution in cosmetic surgery. Internal and external reasons could cause people to feel in need to change their appearance even by using expensive and painful ways. In the essay below i will try to explain the reasons beyond that situation from my point of view. How we look has always been one of the main reasons that leads people's beliefs and behaviors throughout the history. That is understandable since the appearance is the first thing that people see when they look at someone. There is even this saying indicating the importance of first impression: "do not judge a book by its cover". It is a natural tendency to come to a judgement when we look at the people we do not know. As it has been aforesaid, the power of physical appearance has never lost its importance during human life. On the contrary, it is getting more an more important now due to sudden changes in technology and its ability to connect people all around the world. Scientific developments that give us th chance to "create ourselves" from the beginning as we wish. Cosmetic industry has grown nearly tenfold within the last couple of decades. But to people who live for consuming, contemporary solutions the industry offers are not satisfying enough. Every passing they increasing number of people decide to have cosmetic surgery in order to meet the unrealistic beauty expaxtations of globalised society. There is nothing wrong for a person to not happy with the way they look. However the outcomes might be terrifying nevertheless. These beauty standarts have inevitable impacts on young population, especially on teen girls through internet. It could be said that generalisation of these standarts could end up reducing the self-acceptance among young girls who do not match with the expectations, and cause mental disorders such as depression and anxiety. To prevent them from happening, some precautions must be taken. Education is one of the key solutions to spread respect and self-love. Educated societies make room for their members to be different and acceptable at the same time with the way they are. In conclusion, beauty maintaince its importance even today. Therefore, it does not have to be an unwanted thing to access tools to change the way we look if we are not comfortable with it. But it must not be forgetting that the rise in radical measurements could cause distress for people who can not reach them easily.