Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

The discussion of whether information should be spread has not been settled with consistency. While it is argued that sharing information without any requirements is a must-do action especially in the academic, business, and scientific fields, I believe certain information is too precious to be accessed freely. On the one hand, there are many reasons for people to share as much information as possible. First, individuals could make use of the predecessors’ lessons and develop it into better versions. In fact, many start-ups have made their paths to success easier by utilizing successful folks’ tips. Furthermore, when knowledge is spread widely, the government could attain a knowledgeable workforce. Since people have the accessibility to numerous resources, there would be different approaches to dealing with the issue of the fields, which establish more accurate knowledge. On the other hand, the value of every piece of information should be appreciated. In other words, payment is needed as a common way to show some respect to the owners of knowledge, whether it was time, effort or money that they put into researching. Even worse, if the information is free of charge, individuals might be demotivated to come up with new suggestions. For instance, overusing plagiarism in academic and science fields can create saturated insights while limiting knowledge. Meanwhile, restricted access to information provides an opportunity for one business to compete with others. It is, indeed, logical that people are currently willing to pay for such information. In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against the topic, yet I deem that some worthy information should be charged and everyone should take into consideration the level of publicity of their knowledge.