continued rise in population

Population explosion around the world is one of the key challenges that need to be addressed today. Owing to better medical provisions and improved healthcare, the population is rising at an alarming rate. The causes for this rise are numerous, which are listed out in this essay. To begin with, one of the main causes is advances in technologies that result in improved medical facilities that provide better treatment for diseases that were incurable in the past times. Also, a number of people are more health-conscious than before. Nowadays, workplaces and schools are introducing health programs, for example, to take care of your health. Consequently, people now are living to greater ages increasing the average life expectancy rate all over the world. In this regard, this is a benefit for humankind and the research community. From an individual standpoint, I believe that this has created numerous challenges with respect to food security and increased provision of healthcare. Moreover, there will be increased demand for the production of food leading to habitat loss and ultimately, biodiversity loss. If this trend continues, we will soon run out of our resources, facing imminent world hunger and the rich over-powering the poor. This continuous increase is perhaps expected to rise even further adding to the existing issues of global warming and the problem of waste generation. Rising population means greater number of houses, vehicles leading to increased pollution levels and expenditure of resources. To conclude, while generally improved healthcare and medical facilities available to people now has tremendously contributed to the rise in population with certain benefits, it has also deprived us of many resources and will continue to do so, if not addressed.