consumerism impacts on life

Some people think that it is impossible to imagine modern age without private vehicles, TV-sets and refrigerators. However indispensable they are, these things are often accompanied by major impacts not only on budget, but also on environment. On the one hand, it is argued that life would be tiresome and difficult without aforementioned possessions. People wanting to get around do not put up with the low-frequency, schedule, cramped and stuffy environment of public transportation. Private cars reduce the reliance on other means of transportation as a result saves time and allow to travel independently. Secondly, having a tv set enables everyone to whale away time without leaving comfort zone. Not only does it save up money, but also energy. Moreover, food consumption renders fridges absolute, without them lots of food would go off before consuming. On the other hand, I believe that nothing has a tremendous effect on nature than consumerism. It is irrefutable that, first people buy basic needs that facilitates their life. However, due to tricky advertising campaigns and credit cards lots of customers can not help purchasing new ones. Although some people possess what they need, their insatiable appetite seems never get satisfied. Most of consumers tend to squander money not out of necessity but out of acquisitiveness which leads to mass production. In turn manufactures work more to meet the infinite demands of throw-away society by depleting resources and contaminating environment. Additionally, enticed by sales, discounts or ads individuals run up a credit card bill or take a loan consequently they lose track of spendings and end up with mounted bills. In conclusion, notwithstanding its claimed benefits, I agree with those who claim that negative sites of this trend surplus positive ones.