consumerism and social competition in indonesian society

A science fiction novel written by Philip K. Dick with the title Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep has thousands of lessons for its readers regarding the way people live in these modern era from the topic and the characters in the novel. The novel shows how the people live in the era of advanced technologies which in further ruined people’s life. Starting from people’s dependency to the technologies, influence of mass media, false religion, consumerism, less empathy, false identity, mind control, and many more. Consumerism is the topic in the novel that will be discussed in this paper along with the main character in the novel, Rick Deckard, a bounty hunter who wants to kill the nexus-6 in order to by real sheep to impress his neighbours. Consumerism refers to the idea of purchasing goods which is always increases and it makes people being obsessive of it and feels that their well-being and happiness depends on the obtaining those goods, specially fancy things. In addition, the meaning of consumerism in the novel is also relates to the envy feeling within the society in real life. Rick Deckard represents the idea of consumerism that categorize into life standard in the society described in the book whereby Rick Deckard is obsessed to buy real animal as by having a real animal is confirming that his social rank is high according to the living standard that exists in that society (Dick, 1968, p. 5). In Indonesia, social competition among the people happens. The society are competing to impress the people by affording luxuries such as branded goods. The worst case is about those who are willing to do anything in order to achieve their goals which includes to rise social status. The writer found that the topic consumerism and social competition is interesting because it reflects to the lifestyle of the people living in the modern society. Rick Deckard and consumerism in the book showing something similar on how society lives nowadays. Additionally, the questions about what is wrong with our society nowadays, does people really need the fancy things that they brought? . Why society should care about the social competition? In real life, due to the consumerism, many people are competing to evaluate their social status by buying fancy things. For instance, the latest release of branded bag, clothes and many more. The topic will be further discussed in this paper.